2013 The TJ Smith Renamed The JJ Atkins – Race Preview

April 30th, 2013

The Group 1 The TJ Smith has been renamed The JJ Atkins as of this year, with the race due to run at Eagle Farm Racecourse on Saturday June 8, 2013.

The $500,000 race is open to two-year-olds only and is run over a distance of 1,600 metres.


Sizzling was last year's winner of the 2013 The TJ Smith, which is now called The JJ Atkins. Picture by Daniel Costello.

The 2013 The JJ Atkins is one of the most hotly contested races of the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival, with interstate horse often travelling north for the feature.

Run as part of Stradbroke Handicap Day, the 2013 The JJ Atkins shares it’s day with the Group 1 Stradbroke Handicap, Group 1 Queensland Derby, Group 2 Brisbane Cup, Group 2 Queensland Guineas and Group 2 Dane Ripper Quality.

The Group 2 BRC Sires’ Produce Stakes’ date has been change in order to provide a better lead-up for the 2013 The JJ Atkins.

Originally run one week prior to the 2013 The JJ Atkins as part of Queensland Oaks Day, the 2013 BRC Sires’ Produce Stakes will now be run on Doomben 10,000 Day one week earlier.

While some trainers have opposed the switch, Brisbane Racing Club chief executive Stephen Ferguson believes the change will only benefit the carnival and the 2013 The JJ Atkins.

“We consulted widely with top trainers from Queensland and interstate, along with the Australian Pattern Committee and our handicapping panel,” Ferguson said.

“While some wanted to keep it, the overwhelming feedback was that two weeks between the two races was a better fit.

“We were mindful of tradition, but we’re not going to let tradition stand in the way of what’s best for the horses.”

Don’t miss out on the best odds available for the Brisbane Winter Racing Carnival. Open an account with bookmaker.com.au today and start experiencing betting the way it should be!

Just enter the promo code BONUSBET when you join and you will be given a bonus bet worth up to $500 to spend.

You could be using your bonus on the 2013 JJ Atkins next month!